Loves like a hurricane

April 23, 2010

Not having served is a church for six months, when I first read this verse, I wondered if I still had zeal and fervor for serving Christ.  

Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. (Romans 12: 11)

Zeal n. Enthusiastic devotion to a cause, ideal, or goal and tireless diligence in its furtherance.

Fervor n. Great warmth and earnestness of feeling.
I guess there might be a disconnect between our feelings and our actions, or between our emotions and our intentions.  Because not a day goes by when I don’t think, “If I were there I would do…”  Or, “I wish we could…”  And those thoughts are all about helping kids and families connect with Scripture, with God, with Jesus, their savior leader, and friend.
My zeal and fervor are not outwardly visible, nor am I a sparkly ball of energy all the time.  But when I have the opportunity to share with anyone, what I like doing, it is difficult to shut me up.
It seems to me the real disconnect comes from other things that demand or focus our zeal and fervor.  I know, for example, zealous Bills and Sabers fans.  Nice people who seem to like sports more than they like…well, more thant anything else.  There are plenty of things that can distract us, that can call us away from our true love.
What  calls me back is the  thought that the Bills, the Sabers, and really anything else that might demand my attention and affection, these things don’t care a bit about me.  Only about what I can provide for them, which is usually money, time and attention.
Then my thought return to our Father. and what he has done for me brings me back to him.
John Mark McMillian has written a terrific song- How He Loves- that keeps things in perspective for me.

He is jealous for me
Loves like a hurricane
I am a tree
Bending beneath
The weight of his wind and mercy
When all of a sudden
I am unaware of these
Afflictions eclipsed by glory
And I realize how beautiful you are
And how great your affection are for me

Oh how he loves us so
Oh how he loves us
How he loves us so

Yea He loves us
Oh how

We are his portion
And he is our prize
Drawn to redemption by the grace in his eyes
If grace is an ocean we’re all sinking
So heaven meats earth like a sloppy wet kiss
And my heart burns violently inside of my chest
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets
When I think about the way
He loves us

Oh how he loves us so
Oh how he loves us
How he loves us so

Yea He loves us
Oh how

How can we not return a love like that.
Leave a Reply

