staying balanced

April 19, 2010

This is a big balancing act for me.  The fight between “I can do all things through Christ..” and “…Do not think more highly of yourself than you ought..”  I guess there is really a good balance there.  Doing things in the power of Christ and not under my own power keeps me grounded.  It’s when, “I can do this on my own”  (There’s no reference verse for that one.) that I run into problems.

For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you. (Romans 12:3)

It’s a balancing act that requires Grace and thanksgiving to continually acknowledge the giver of every good and perfect gift.  What I have that is good is a gift for which to be thankful.

I spent years with a very low self image and self esteem- I didn’t like myself.  As I grew in my faith I came to understand my own uniqueness and my God-image. so this verse is one that re-centers me.  I usually don’t think more highly of my self than I ought, but sometimes the pride sneaks in.  (That is more and more rare, the longer I am outside of active, meaningful ministry.)   The counter to that is to not think less highly of ourselves.  We are, after all, fearfully and wonderfully made, in the image of Christ.

The balance comes when I see Christ as not only the source of my strengths, but the giver of every good and perfect gift.  What I am good at I am good at because of the gifts I have been given.  This verse ties in so well with Proverbs 3: 5-6:   Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;  in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

The more we rely on him and the less we rely on self, the straighter the path and the more useful for the kingdom we become.  The more we try to seek and serve (and obey) him the less we will struggle with poor self esteem – in either direction.

The balanced life comes from the right fulcrum, as much as it does the right board.  The board -our life – can move up or down depending upon how far away we are from the fulcrum…the Trinity.

Keep centered in God, saved by Christ, guided by the Spirit, and our life will stay in balance, we won’t struggle with thinking more highly of ourselves than we ought.

And we will accomplish so much more when we aren’t so busy trying to keep our balance.

Sometime, just for the fun of it, close your eyes and try standing on one foot.  It can be difficult.  Open you eyes and everything re-centers, and standing on one foot is easy.  Living our lives on our own is like standing on one foot with our eyes closed.  That’s a sober judgment. 

Leave a Reply

