Worship

April 17, 2010

When I go to church, my favorite part of the service is the time of worship.  When I go to a conference, like Catalyst, or OrangeGrow Up or Promiseland, my favorite part is the worship.  The training and teaching are usually great.  The resource rooms are better than any bookstore, and I really like bookstores.  But the very best part for me is the worship.  Weather it’s a full on band or one guy and a guitar, getting into God’s presence in worship fills a part of me that nothing else can, and I love it.

And I think God likes it too.  But what I think he likes even more is me living a life that pleases him between worship sets.  Not holiness for holiness sake, the Pharisees had that down pretty good, and they really missed he boat with Jesus.  But a life that strives to please God, a life that points to him in everyday activities.  That’s what God likes.

Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. (Romans 12:1)

The best worship I can offer is to try my best to live for God.  To offer my body, heart, mind, and soul; to offer who I am to Who He Is.

And most of  the time I mess something up, have to seek forgiveness and try again, and again and again.  That’s the worship he wants. That’s what he is asking for.  And when I get that part right for even a short time, then I know beyond a doubt what God’s will for my life is; his good and pleasing and perfect will. (Romans 12:2)

That’s worship.

I don’t even need a guitar.

Leave a Reply

