His good, pleasing and perfect will

April 17, 2010

I think most believers would say that they want to do God’s will.  Most would also say they at least sometimes have a difficult time discerning it.  At least I hope I’m not the only one that sometimes feel like I am left alone to figure it out for myself.

Sometimes God’s will is crystal clear.  I remember the summer of ’97 that turned into the winter of ’98.  I had visited 12 churches in 12 months looking for my new place of ministry.  And at all 12 I heard the distinct voice of God’s Spirit saying, “No, not this one.”  Then, when I heard, “This is the one.”  It was also so clear.  But that’s not happening right now.  I am listening to the silence, trying to make the wise choice.  Waiting for the Voice of Truth to speak a YES into my life.  I know he will.  I am willing to wait, for I know he will at some point again say, “This is the one.”  But in the mean time there is something I can do, be proactive, I guess, to make sure I understand the voice when I hear it.

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” (Romans 12:2)

This has much less with what church looks like than what I look like.  I drove by a church the other day whose message, behind Plexiglas outside the church, and my guess would be behind the pulpit inside the church, was written in a language that the United Kingdom quit using several hundred years ago.  This church definitely does not conform to the patterns of this world.  Neither do they show an ounce of concern for the thousands of lost ones just outside their door.

Rather, I think this passage is talking to me (and you) as individual believers.  And it is talking more about the lifestyle I live between my ears than the clothes I wear, the car I drive or the language I speak.  I renew my mind by choosing what God would choose.   I renew my mind by avoiding what hurts the heart of God.  And I think, most importantly, I renew my mind by reading and meditating on the Word of God.  The best way to recognize the voice of God is by familiarizing myself with it at every opportunity.  I must be prepare to move when I hear his voice and not doubt for a moment.

A long time ago (years, perhaps decades, not millennia) Max Lucado wrote a short story, called The Song of The King. Find it if you can, it addresses this subject in a very creative way.  It’s about, among other things a true heir to the thron recognizing the song of his father.  Because he had listened to his father play, he recognized the music.

When I hear His song, I will have no problem recognizing it, if I am a student of His Word.

So I study, and listen for his good, pleasing and perfect will.

One Response to “His good, pleasing and perfect will”

  1. Sue W said

    AWESOME. AWESOME. AWESOME. This post resonates in and for me. Mucho Gracias for posting. I’ll find the Lucado book. Overwhemingly blessed by your blog. For now, it seems, to me, as I think about God and his ways, that finding our niche includes waiting for God’s perfectly exquisite timing. I love the way God moves, never early, never late. He is just marvelous at displaying his Glory at just the time I need it the most!! Halleluiah!!!! When your book’s published, I will purchase for myself and my friends. “Be not afraid, I go before you ALWAYS, come follow Me and I will lead you home.” : )

Leave a Reply

