How simple can it get?

April 14, 2010

James 5: 16 So admit to one another that you have sinned. Pray for one another so that you might be healed. The prayer of a godly person is powerful. It makes things happen.

I have a rather simple, straight-forward way of talking to kids about reading their Bibles.  Do it.  Often.  It’s good for you.

Beyond that I have three simple, straight-forward questions kids can ask when they read their Bibles.  Answer one, two or three of the questions when you read and it should help you follow Jesus.  I’ll share the three questions.  I would sure like to hear from you if you have a plan that works with your kids, but this is what I use.

1.  What does this passage tell me about God?

2.  What does this passage tell me about people, including me?

3.  What am I going to do about it?

So I opened up this morning and read Colossians 1:3, “We always pray for you, and we give thanks to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

One thing I have a lot of these days is time.  So I have plenty of time for this particular activity.  Diane and I pray together almost every day.  Not at a set time, although we may be more disciplined at it if we set a time.  But then again we might have to miss the time and therefore miss it more often.  See how easy it is to make excuses?  But throughout the day the inclination or the nudge of the Spirit or whatever you might want to call it happens, and so I pray.  Sometimes for quite a while, and sometimes for a moment.  But I can and should pray more.

Here’s one thing that crossed my mind.  Since I have so many millions of people reading this blog, well at least three of you do, here’s the idea.  Tell me how I can pray for you, and I will.  Maybe only once and I’ll forget.  But I will ask the Spirit to remind me, He does that you know, and I will pray for you.  Often, till you tell me to stop.

I have the time, God tells us to pray for each other, so tell me and I will.  Obviously, the more specific the better, but at the same time I respect your right to share what you fell comfortable sharing.   And I won’t tell anyone else.  But I will pray.

James 5: 16 says, “… Pray for one another so that you might be healed. The prayer of a godly person is powerful. It makes things happen.”  My godliness comes from God.

Let’s watch things happen.  Let me know how I can pray for you.

One Response to “How simple can it get?”

  1. Sue W said

    I am head over heels in love with rediscovering God at the Chapel in Chicagoland. Matt Furr is there and I connected to their message online. @ chronicles 16:9 is their foundational verse. I am very excited about the new ways I am rediscovering God and esp. the ways I am discovering that He is a lot different than I thought! Would you and Diane please pray that God would plant a “chapel church” here in WNY? The chapel has 5 sites currently, all in Chicagoland. All I know for now, is that the chapel.org has led me to rediscover God and I’m overflowing with gratitude to their church. I’d love it if there was a WNY Chapel church plant. If it’s God’s will, it’ll come. Thanks much.

Leave a Reply

