chimney geese

April 5, 2010

Some time ago we were walking in our neighborhood and noticed something truly unusual.  A neighbors house has a rather large chimney, more than six feet wide with three flue pipes emerging from the top.  Standing on the top of the chimney were a pair of Canada Geese, looking down one of the flue pipes.

It was nesting season and we couldn’t decide.  Were these geese considering building a nest up there?  Or, had they just laid an egg in that flue pipe and were now trying to figure out how to sit on it?  Either way it looked really funny watching two big geese on a chimney; they were so out of place.  Less than a hundred yard from where they stood was a lovely pond surrounded by tall wild grasses, brush and other suitable, appropriate nesting material.  And plenty of company as well as relative safety.  But here they were standing on a chimney like a pair of Santa’s.

I wonder sometime if I look like a goose on a chimney.  Are my perspectives so messed up that the wrong place at the wrong time looks to me like the perfect opportunity?  Are the great opportunities disguised, so that chimney tops look more like home than home?  A line in an  old Simon and Garfunkel tune says, “a man see what he wants to see and disregards the rest.”  ( The Boxer, 1968)

It seems we plant ourselves where we want to be and then find a way to justify it.  Or we just make something up.  Either way our efforts look like an attempt to build a nest on a chimney.

I wonder sometime how much of my efforts, my striving, my studying, looks to God as if I were trying to build a nest on a chimney.  ( 1 Corinthians 3:19)  I wonder if I will ever learn to trust God so completely that I will migrate to where he wants me to be as quickly as geese migrate when he says “Go!”  I wonder if I will keep building on top of chimneys until I finally fall off.

One Response to “chimney geese”

  1. Sue W. said

    I’ve met some of my best friends on unexpected detours on my journey. Hindsight is 20/20. SW

Leave a Reply

