making cats cry

March 27, 2010

So I have been slowly learning how to play guitar for about four years.  I still don’t know enough to comfortably play in front of any audience that isn’t solely made up of cats, but I keep trying.  About twice a year I decide I want to do more than just strum the guitar, I want to learn to play fingerstyle guitar.  And every time, I get two days into it and get so frustrated that I want to throw the guitar across the room.  And the guitar feels the same way about me.  It vibrates discordantly,  “If you can’t do any better than that, just put me down!”  My fingers hurt, my ears hurt, and mostly, my ego hurts.  This shouldn’t be so stinking hard!!!!

But if everybody and anybody could do it, than why are we so fascinated by Tommy Emmanuel and Phil Keaggy.  If it was simple then Steve Via and Joe Satriani and Eric Johnson and Eric Clapton Micheal Gungor wouldn’t fill auditoriums everywhere they go.  If Wes King and B.B. King were doing something we all could do, where would the grace be.

So I will keep trying and quitting until I quit quitting.  Like a smoker in reverse I will not kick this habit.  Even if the cats cry and leave the room.  Even if I never play for anyone but God.  He at least will have to listen to me.

He’ll probably snicker.

2 Responses to “making cats cry”

  1. Jeanette Chambers said

    I really enjoyed this story about the importance of tenacity. By the way, have you ever considered becoming a writer? It’s just a thought 🙂

Leave a Reply

