Blue skies

March 18, 2010

“Blue skies smiling at me, nothing but blue skies do I see.”  Thank you Irving Berlin for the song.  Thank you God for that which we celebrate.

Blue skies for more than a week straight, a couple of cloudy days and then it’s back to more sunshine.  How cool is that?!  I don’t remember a week in my life that it was sunny every day, except when I spent a month in the desert.  When we lived in Michigan (a lifetime ago) we were so near Lake Michigan that giant cumulus clouds were almost always present, even on sunny days; we would be lucky to get one clear and sunny day in a row.  When we were in Indiana I was studying almost continuously, so even their typical sunny weather was lost on me most of the time.  So I’m going to enjoy this sunshine, soak up all the vitamin D I can get.

Grumpy geese notwithstanding, today is the kind of day that even outdoor work is better than indoor play.  But how do we translate that into activity that counts?  A bit of yard work.  Oops, stuck in the mud; yard work only in the front yard.  Sweep the drive, pick up sticks, maybe a long walk.  Clean the garage?  No, I need a week for that.   Maybe I’ll just sit outside until I either think of something to do or fall asleep.

When God gives us blue skies we need to take full advantage of it, so get out there an enjoy.

Leave a Reply

