As reliable as…

March 15, 2010

One of our biggest and best wedding presents (more than thirty-three years ago) was a set of Revere-ware stainless steel pots and pans, with copper bottoms.  These pans were made by the company that was founded by Paul Revere, yep, that Paul Revere.  Remember these pans and pots are thirty-three years old!  And they still work and look good.  in fact, somewhere along the way we inherited a large 15 inch Revere-ware skillet that is probably fifty years old, and it still looks and works great!  Unbelievable.  I wonder if there is anything else out there that works as well as if did in 1976, or 1966 or 56 for that matter.  If you have any old reliables that you use frequently, let me know, I’m starting a list.

We’ve had cheaper pans along the way that we have used, used up, and discarded.  We once bought a set of fabulously expensive cast iron cook-wear that worked great, until it was all stolen.  But year in and year out the Revere-ware has held up, stood the test of time, literally.

I hope I hold up as well.  As a husband, as a friend, as an neighbor, as a leader, and in some cases, a follower, I hope I can be counted on year in and year out.  I hope I work as well and clean up as easily.  I hope when people say, “Who can we get that we can count on?”  they think of me.  And I hope I don’t disappoint.

I hope I am as reliable as Revere-ware.  Without going to pot.

Leave a Reply

