Gold, silver, bronze.

February 24, 2010

I know that we live in a culture that values and rewards “winners” and most of the time I am OK with that; though it’s been a while since I’ve been rewarded since we also live in a culture that values and rewards “youth.”  I’m OK with that too.

I’m a capitalist.  I believe in being rewarded for hard work, in the principle of risk and reward.  There have been times when I was considered athletic; hard work, in the right direction, results in victories in addition to longevity.  I’m a Christian, the Bible clearly teaches if you don’t work, you shouldn’t eat; you reap what you sow; what’s  given back is in proportion to what’s given.  All those things are true, and to some degree displayed at the Olympic Games.

But watching the Olympics I realize that in some cases there should be rewards for simply showing up.  These people are terrific!

I sometimes wonder what would happen if I put as much time, energy and training into my faith as the Olympic athletes put into their sport.  What would happen to the world if we who follow Jesus treated heaven and hell as seriously as Apollo treats the ice.

Leave a Reply

