Who (or what) do you depend on?

February 1, 2010

My minivan is in the shop. Probably two days with no vehicle. Well, we are working from home theses days, so it’s not a huge deal. (Until they give us the repair bill.) We can live without a car for another day, then things really start to get interesting. Most of what we can do can be done from home. But we have real estate that we must examine, and sooner or later, Diane is going to want to eat. Just kidding, she can go days without food. Just kidding again, we have plenty to eat, for now.

But if we are invited to a friend’s home we must decline. If we want to see a house, or a movie for that matter, it will just have to wait.

I think back to my childhood; my mother never had a vehicle, but she never had to go any where. In fact almost every home in my neighborhood was a one-car-home. And if someone needed something, they could get it from a neighbor. When was the last time you borrowed a cup of sugar, a couple of eggs, or some shortening?

We are less dependent on the help, or even friendship of our neighbors. We are less dependent on the ability to “come up with” a meal. We are dependent upon no one and nothing.

And that makes me wonder how we can claim to lean completely upon Jesus. If everything I need can be gotten from the store, just a short drive from my home, why do we need God? In America I think we may need to lose some of that independence in order to grow our faith.

When virtually everything is at our fingertips, why do we ever have to go to our knees?


  • Advertisements
  • One Response to “Who (or what) do you depend on?”

    1. Kelly said

      Hi Tim,
      We have been a one car family since we were married. We didn’t intend for it to be that way, but after 4.5 years, we are still a one car family.

      When Jeff was working and I was alone in a new town, hundreds of miles from my friends and family, I found myself depressed because I had lost my freedom–aka–wheels. I couldn’t go anywhere, but at the same time, there wasn’t anywhere to go! I didn’t know anyone, didn’t know my way around. I then had my first baby and again, we sat home. A lot.

      It wasn’t until we moved from the suburbs to a quaint little town that I was able to understand how my mother, and hers before her, lived without a car. I walked to the post office. I walked to the corner store. I walked to visit the neighbors, and to the park, and to the ocean to see some scenery. Might I add that it was just around the block!

      Now I’m back in my hometown, near my family and friends, but still without a car. Had anyone told me that I’d be carless for coming up on 5 years, I would certainly have given them a slap (or wanted to)! Looking back, though, I see that it wasn’t all bad. There were several lessons in it for me.

      Having had a car for a decade, then only one to share with my spouse who needed it everyday, and now having the option to take it because he’s home, I actually long to live like days past (decades ago). There is definitely something to be said about having your neighbors as friends and being able to have what you need in walking distance.

    Leave a Reply

