Little things

January 9, 2010

It was time to renew my driver’s license. I went on line, checked hours and locations. The DMV is always a fun place to spend one’s day off, but the more information I have the quicker I can do this. I find the location, check in with the very friendly agent at the door, take a vision test, and get in line. You’ll see the irony of that vision test in a moment. I stand in line for thirty minutes with all my paperwork ready, including my check. I give this to the very friendly lady behind the bullet proof glass. She starts to process me, stops and says, “This license doesn’t expire until 2013.” I had looked at the date wrong. One misread number and I am years early for my drivers license.

Another time I got up at 4:00 AM, to get to the airport in time for my 6:43 AM flight only to realize I accidentally booked the 6:43 PM flight. There’s not that much difference between an A and a P. Just enough to make me 12 hours early for my flight.

I now fully understood what Ben Franklin meant when he said,

“For the want of a nail, the shoe was lost; for the want of a shoe the horse was lost; and for the want of a horse the rider was lost, being overtaken and slain by the enemy, all for the want of care about a horseshoe nail.”

A diamond does not have to be very big to make a big difference; neither does a bullet. A cell phone can be tiny and the keys even more tiny, but if a message is typed while driving, those tiny keys could be deadly.

It’s the small details that make the difference between a good and great presentation, piece of music or automobile. It’s the little things that count, whether you are measuring for a carpet, a guitar or the perfect meal.

It’s the little details that make the big picture.

Small stuff counts. The details do matter. They matter to the airlines, they matter to the DMV and they matter to God. Don’t think so? Consider Matthew 10:28-31: Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

Every hair, every sparrow is counted in God’s Kingdom.

I’ve always been a big picture person, I like the saying, “don’t sweat the small stuff.” It bugs me, but I miss spelling and punctuation errors in everything I write. I just don’t see them. But the more I read (and the more I live) the more I realize the small stuff is an important part of the kingdom.

God is aware of the smallest details of our life. He wants us to go to him with the littlest concerns of our life, and to then trust him. He wants us to trust him they way small children trust him. When we trust the way a child trusts, we are closest to God.

I am not always so good with the details. I’m working on it, but after 54 years, I’m not holding out too much hope. But, the little things, now that’s a different story.

One Response to “Little things”

  1. Judy Scantland said

    Hi Tim,

    I enjoy reading your blog and hearing your thoughts.

    Blessings…..

Leave a Reply

