Why I weep on weekends.

December 23, 2009

Because I did not have to stay around longer on Saturday evening to do a last minutes walk through.
Because I did not have to arrive an hour early to pray with my loving team of ministry partners.
Because I did not leave it all on the floor in the morning, I did not need a nap in the afternoon.
Because I did not have to stay after the last service to talk to parents about the decision their child made this weekend.
Because I did not have to take time between services with my worship team to go over the new song one more time.
Because I did not have to take money out of my own pocket to buy coffee for my tech team.
Because I did not have to prepare for a training meeting.
Because I didn’t miss lunch with my wife so I could meet with staff.
Because I wasn’t asked at the last minute if I could find a sub for a 4th grade small-group leader.
Because no one threw up in the middle of the main entrance.
I weep on weekends because I am not currently ministering to children.

4 Responses to “Why I weep on weekends.”

  1. Kim said

    Finally read it … makes me weep. My son sees Jesus, thanks to you. He knows about the Last Dragon in Michigan thanks to you. He thanks God for you and so do I … you are still ministering to children, but maybe, just for now, it is one child at a time.

  2. Tracy said

    I truly cannot imagine your loss. In the midst of our exhaustion at times we fail to understand the impact ministry has in our lives and those around us. I truly believe Tim, that God is preparing you for something big. For whatever reason He has you in this place in life and has allowed these painful circumstances. It is alright to weep for what you have lost. I believe your tears are noticed by the Father and knows your passion for ministering to children. He will once again restore and provide an opportunity for you to do what you are passionate about. Kurt and I have been in your season and know the pain you feel for losing so much. From lessons learned we have seen God mold good out of what someone else meant for other purposes. We continue to pray for you in this process. You are a talented man and much to offer and I can’t wait to see how this is all used in your life.

  3. Dawn said

    I weep too.

    And I weep because I know you weep.

    I don’t understand.

    I miss you and love you. So do my kids.

    I’m not so good with the words…so that’s all I got.

  4. Debbie said

    Chris Yount Jones shared your moving blog on her blog. I remember you from CMML, and I am sad for you. I trust in God’s goodness and purpose in your life, as I’m sure you do. I hope to hear how God is using in the future. You will know only in heaven how many lives you touched and changed through your ministry.

Leave a Reply

