Words and Music by…

December 21, 2009

I am trying to get past this writers block, so I’ll write nonsense until something interesting happens. So if you are one who will stay with me through the musicless noise I cannot guarantee that you will be rewarded with anything other than drivel, but thanks for hanging around.

I am reading The War of Art in an attempt to break through, and I have a great friend poking me every now and then. I think I should put the book down and write. (As an interesting aside, I tend to like reading about guitars more than I like practicing, but I don’t play any better after reading.)

But as long as I am reading let me share a thought or two from Steven Pressfield. “How many of us have become drunks and drug addicts, developed tumors and neuroses, succumbed to painkillers, gossip, and compulsive cell-phone use, simply because we don’t do that thing that our hearts, our inner genius, is calling us to?…If tomorrow morning by some stroke of magic every dazed and benighted soul woke up with the power to take the first step toward perusing his or her dreams, every shrink in the directory would be out of business. Prisons would stand empty. The alchohol and tobacco industries would collapse, along with junk food, cosmetic surgery, and infotainment businesses, not to mention pharmaceutical companies, hospitals, and the medical profession from top to bottom. Domestic abuse would become extinct, as would addiction, obesity, migraine headaches, road rage and dandruff.” (From the introductory chapter- The unlived life- The War of Art, copyright 2002, Stephen Pressfield, Grand Central Publishing, New York)

So maybe I won’t write anything that is of any use to you…but write I will until I cannot. You may never see liner notes that read, “words and music by Tim Miller. The Last Dragon In Michigan may never show up at Borders, but I will write. I will write about what interests and entertains me, in the hope that it also engages you, but I can’t help it if it doesn’t. What I do know is that I won’t make you laugh if I don’t tell a joke; I won’t make you cry if I don’t sing a song, and I won’t make you think if I sit around and sulk.

Sorry for the wait.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

