The Day The Music Died

November 28, 2009

Up until early June of this year I had music playing in my office almost continuously. Then the music died. Children’s music made me melancholy, classical made me depressed (I know a lot of people who always feel that way about classical music.) Rock music just seemed like noise (I know a lot …never mind.) And worship music made me cry. So as I moved from working in an office to working in my home, the stereo rarely came on, and when it did, it was like listening to music I used to like. I rarely picked up my guitar. Things started getting very quiet.

Now the Christmas season is upon us and I am bringing out my Christmas music. I am happy to say I am enjoying it. I hope it will allow me to get used to song once again and then I will be able to turn it all back on once again and start to listen to the music with fresh ears.

For the next few days I am going to talk about music; how it has affected so many areas of my life. I hope it will not be background music, or worse yet elevator music to you. I would prefer that it put you in first chair as opposed to front row center seat. in other words I hope my musings allow you to participate, not just listen in on my tunes. I hope it takes you on a mental journey to some of the places music has taken you in the past.

So if you don’t like music you don’t have to read for a while. I’ll see you soon.

And oh, yea, the music died, but I believe in the resurrection. Or as I would say to kids, it didn’t stay dead.

Psalm 95

1 Come, let us sing for joy to the LORD;
let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.

2 Let us come before him with thanksgiving
and extol him with music and song.

3 For the LORD is the great God,
the great King above all gods.

Leave a Reply

