Leaves and Life

October 27, 2009

Raking leaves this evening I got the feeling that leaves and life are a lot alike.

Now I know your thinking, there’s nothing new with that analogy, and I agree, there is nothing new under the sun. But I wasn’t thinking about the typical analogy that everyone sites: spring, summer, fall, winter…blah, blah, blah. No I was thinking about raking leaves and life.

When I start raking I am strong and fresh and ambitious. I feel like I can rake all day. I can use the biggest rake and move a mountain of leaves.

By the time I’m finished I need the littlest rake in the garage, and I can hardly move the leaves a foot at a time. And of course when I start raking there are just a few leaves and by the time I finish, when I am all worn out, the pile of leaves I need to move are up to my waist. And it’s getting dark out.

Life is like that. When we are young we can do anything, and the most difficult task seems easy; we never run out of energy. As we age the tasks seem more difficult, the piles seem higher and once simple jobs are more difficult and take longer. And the sun is going down.

OK, after that depressing drivel I need to tell you, I love the fall, I love raking leaves, and I love the place I am in right now. I got married in the fall to my best friend, who is still my best friend, so autumn is not only beautiful, it if full of wonderful memories. Being outside doing yard work is always enjoyable, but raking leaves is great; when I’m finished I can see the results, and I have a big pile of leaves I can jump into. And right now my life is pretty cool; I have dreams, goals and plans that excite me and life is sweet.

So life is like leaves, that’s not so bad.DSCN2769

Leave a Reply

