God laughed at me today.

September 30, 2009

God laughed at me this morning. I heard him. He sounds kind of like me. Only wiser and less concerned about what others might think of him.

Last night I had the audacity to make a specific request of him. An hour after I got up He laughed as he answered my request exactly. Three hours later He was chuckling as he answered the same request again differently than I expected. Around five this evening he said something like “Hey Pete, watch this!” (Thanks Tony C,) and he answered the prayer for the third time in one day! In a totally new and different way!

“So you don’t think I’m listening, huh?” he asked with a chuckle.

Now God doesn’t giggle. Sometimes he guffaws, sometimes he chuckles, but God doesn’t giggle. But he delights in giving good gifts to his children, and he wants us to laugh along with him.

Job 8:21
He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.

Psalm 18:19
He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me.

VBS+ 181

Leave a Reply

