Lichen

September 29, 2009

We were walking in Chestnut Ridge Park the other day and noticed the lichen growing on the trunks of trees. I’ve read that lichen on tree trunks is a sign of clean air. We noticed it first several years ago in Acadia National Park, and again in Shenandoah National Park, where the air was clear and fresh. (I am listening to Fresh Aire as I write this.) And as we wandered through Chestnut Ridge we noticed again how clean and crisp the air is. My guess is the lichen is one of the positive side effects of the economic downturn this area has felt for decades now.

As I thought about the lichen, two questions crossed my mind.

1.) As lichen is a sign of clean air, what are the signs that people see in me that I am a follower of Jesus?

2.) What are the positive side effects of my current economic downturn?

Hmmmm.

Skyline Drive - Shenndoh 05-08 055

Leave a Reply

