The human trash compactor

July 15, 2009

When I was a teen, my older brother and I could have a “healthy” snack after our younger siblings were in bed.  One of my favorites was raisins.  I would ask my mom, and her response was almost always the same, “You can have a juice glass full.”  Simple portion control for a teen with an endless appetite.   Seven of us would sit around the kitchen table for supper, and my older brother and I would eat half the food.  So at snack time mom wanted to limit even the good snacks, to keep the grocery budget under control.

So one six ounce juice glass of raisins.  I don’t know if mom knew it or not but raisins squish!  Big time!  I packed those babies in there, pushed them down until I had easily two or three times what my mother expected me to take.  A human trash compactor and garbage disposal all in one skinny kid.  I, know, I know, the letter of the law but not the spirit, but hey, I was a growing boy.

God wants us to be generous with our gifts that way.  He wants us to be extravagant.  To give more than expected.  To go beyond the letter of the law and to capture the spirit of giving.

In the last few weeks we have experiences extravagant giving beyond our imagination, on the receiving end.  The computer I am typing on was a gift.  Yea, buddy!  We’ve been given cash from friends – sometimes nice checks and sometime unbelievable checks.   And it feels good.  We are just starting to write thank you notes and it’s going to take a while. We feel sooooo blessed.

I hope when we are once again up and running on all cylinders we can remember these gifts and be even more extravagant in our giving. To those who need it and sometimes to those  who don’t, just for the joy of it.

Luke 6:38 Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

Leave a Reply

