Is something ripe in here or is it just me?

June 25, 2009

Man I love fresh strawberries!  In fact I don’t think there is anything better to eat than fresh picked strawberries.  Unless of course it is fresh picked blueberries in season.  Or maybe fresh picked peaches ,or apples.  I’ve never picked watermelon, but I bet that would be pretty good too.

We live in a world where we can get almost anything any time of the year.  Because of that I think we miss some real treats.  When I was a kid I was delighted because I knew there would be a large navel orange in the toe of my Christmas stocking.  That was a treat, an expensive exception.  Now I can get anything any time.  But there is nothing better than fresh fruits and vegetables picked locally today.

The Bible says there is a time and a season for every good thing.  The last few days  I have felt like an apple that stayed on the tree too long and had fallen to the ground.  My dad used to by these “drops” because he could get a bushel for a couple of dollars.  It made me hate bruised fruit so that I never eat fruit with a bruise on it.  That is what I felt like yesterday.  A drop.

But as God’s grace works through me I realize that I am about to be fresh fruit right in the prime of harvest, I  will be exactly where I belong at exactly the right moment.  I not only will bear fruit, I will be fruit.  (Not a fruit.)  The Lord of the Harvest has this under control.

And even as I write these words I realize that, although things are tough right now, I already am exactly where God wants me to be at this moment.  I may feel rotten and bruised, but unlike fruit, I am growing through my situation, not just making a home for worms.

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.  Ecclesiastes 3:1fall vacation 011

Leave a Reply

