sirens in the night

March 31, 2009

A mother came to me with her young child who became very fearful every time he heard sirens in the night.  I suggested that whenever he heard sirens that he take a moment to pray for the police, firefighters and the people they were going to help.  This would take the child’s mind off his own fear and allow him  to focus on others.

Since then I have lived several blocks from a fire station, and along a major route to a home for the aged.  Not a day goes by that I don’t hear sirens.   Sometimes I am awakened in the middle of the night by the noise, and after praying for the rescue personnel and the ones they are going to help, I lie awake and wonder if there is anyone else I forgot to mention.  Some days (like this morning) the sirens come as a reminder that I have been self focused, so I thank God for my many blessings and try to take my mind where he wants it to be for a while.

I realize that most of my frustrations of late have been because of misplaced focus. When I get upset, is it because someone else has been wronged or just me?  When I am sad is it because of the plight of the world or too much self focus?

When we watch and listen for the emergency signals being flashed – both by professional helpers as well as by those we care for – we will not only remember to pray more often, but we also take our minds off ourselves.  And our mind doesn’t really belong there any way, does it?

Leave a Reply

