aerodynamic socks

February 18, 2009

I “played” basketball this afternoon.  I use the term loosely because I am not very good.  And even that is an understatement. I thought today would be  different.  After all I had on my aerodynamic socks.  They didn’t help at all.  I wasn’t lighter on my feet, I couldn’t shoot any better, and my hands are still a half a second behind my brain.  Maybe it’s because they are running socks, not basketball socks.

When I bought these socks there was the funniest label I had ever seen.  The tag said that these were the most aerodynamic socks ever made.  And the company was serious.  Not only that, but there was a left sock and a right sock.  I wonder what would happen if I switched them.  Maybe then I would no longer be a klutz.

Sometimes we expect more than we should from the stuff we purchase.  We believe the tags and the wrappers.  If we buy the right products we will become better athletes,  better lovers, or somehow, just happier.  I’ve come to doubt most of what I read on packages.

The only one that delivers what he promises is God.  Every time.  No false advertising, no clever packaging.  He promises to love me, no matter what, and he does.  Even when I miss an open jump shot, even when I catch a pass with my nose.

He loves me.

The only thing I know for sure about these socks is that my feet don’t stink so bad after I wear them.  My game still does though.

Leave a Reply

